Jefferson Men’s Basketball Announces 2017-18 Schedule

Jefferson Men’s Basketball Announces 2017-18 Schedule

2017-18 SCHEDULE: HTML

PHILADELPHIA – The Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University) men's basketball team, led by head coach and Naismith Hall of Fame inductee Herb Magee in his 51st season, finalized its 2017-18 schedule which features 31 regular-season contests including a trip to California and 13 home affairs.

HIGHLIGHTS
- First season as the Jefferson Rams
- 31 games: 13 home, 13 away, 5 neutral
- 19 conference games
- Home Opener: Saturday, Nov. 18 at noon vs. Bentley
- Cross country trip to California for three games to begin the season
- Part of the NCAA DII Basketball Showcase on Saturday, Feb. 17 at Caldwell with a doubleheader broadcast on ESPN3
- CACC Rivalry Week: at Holy Family on Saturday, Dec. 9 and then hosting Holy Family to cap off the regular season on Saturday, Feb. 24.
- Following the regular season, the Rams will be hosting the semifinals and finals of the 2017-18 CACC Championship in early March.

NOVEMBER – 9 GAMES: 3 HOME, 1 AWAY, 5 NEUTRAL
Jefferson's season begins with a trip to California from Friday, Nov. 3 through Sunday, Nov. 5 for the 2017 Sports Anaheim DII Tip-Off Classic where the Rams will play Concordia (Cal.), Point Loma and Palm Beach Atl.

Following that, Jefferson plays against Merrimack and American International in the East Region Conference Challenge, hosted by Holy Family, on Saturday, Nov. 11 and Sunday, Nov. 12.

The six-game road stretch to open the campaign ends at St. Thomas Aquinas on Wednesday, Nov. 15 (7:30 p.m.).

The men's home opener is set for Saturday, Nov. 18 against Bentley from the Gallagher Center (noon) before closing out the month at home against Bridgeport on Sunday, Nov. 26 (1 p.m.) and Kutztown on Tuesday, Nov. 28 (6 p.m.).

DECEMBER – 6 GAMES [5 CACC]: 3 HOME, 3 AWAY
The beginning of December brings conference play as the Rams travel to Georgian Court on Saturday, Dec. 2 (3 p.m.). The first CACC home game for Jefferson welcomes Chestnut Hill to the Gallagher Center on Tuesday, Dec. 5 (8 p.m.).

The last four games of December are split between away and home. Jefferson travels to Holy Family on Saturday, Dec. 9 (2 p.m.) before a nonconference test at NYIT on Thursday, Dec. 14 (7 p.m.). The Rams are back at home for Wilmington on Tuesday, Dec. 19 (3 p.m.) before ending the calendar year with Goldey-Beacom on Saturday, Dec. 30 (3 p.m.).

JANUARY – 9 GAMES [8 CACC]: 3 HOME, 6 AWAY
The new year commences with a nonconference game at Franklin Pierce on Wednesday, Jan. 3 (1 p.m.) before playing at USciences on Saturday, Jan. 6 (3 p.m.). The first home game of 2018 brings Nyack to the Gallagher Center for a midweek matchup on Wednesday, Jan. 10 (8 p.m.). The next two for the Rams see them travel to Post and Wilmington on Saturday, Jan. 13 (3 p.m.) and Tuesday, Jan. 16 (8 p.m.).

Concordia (N.Y.) comes to Philadelphia for a CACC affair on Sunday, Jan. 21 (2 p.m.) before the Rams play two games at Chestnut Hill and at Dominican (N.Y.) on Wednesday, Jan. 24 (8 p.m.) and Saturday, Jan. 27 (4 p.m.)

The final game of the month begins a four-game homestand for Jefferson on Tuesday, Jan. 30 with Georgian Court (8 p.m.).

FEBRUARY – 7 GAMES [6 CACC]: 4 HOME, 3 AWAY
The Rams host Felician, USciences and Bloomfield to cap their longest homestand of the campaign. The Rams and Golden Falcons play on Saturday, Feb. 3 (4 p.m.) before the Devils come to the Gallagher Center on Wednesday, Feb. 7 (8 p.m.). The four-game stand wraps up on Saturday, Feb. 10 with Bloomfield (4 p.m.).

The next three for the Rams come on the road at Southern Connecticut State on Monday, Feb. 12 (TBA), Saturday, Feb. 17 at Caldwell (3 p.m.) and Wednesday, Feb. 21 at Goldey-Beacom (8 p.m.).

Saturday's game at Caldwell will be broadcast on ESPN3 as part of the NCAA DII Basketball Showcase.

The Rams close the regular season at home on Saturday, Feb. 24 with Holy Family (4 p.m.), part of the CACC Rivalry Weekend.

CACC CHAMPIONSHIP
The CACC Championship Quarterfinals begins on Tuesday, Feb. 27 with the higher seed serving as the home site. Jefferson will host the semifinals and finals on Saturday, March 3 and Sunday, March 4.

View: Mobile | Desktop