Jefferson Women’s Basketball Finalizes 2017-18 Slate

Jefferson Women’s Basketball Finalizes 2017-18 Slate

2017-18 SCHEDULE: HTML

PHILADELPHIA – The Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University) women's basketball team, led by head coach Tom Shirley in his 29th season, announced its 2017-18 schedule on Tuesday afternoon. The season features 28 regular-season contests including 16 at the Gallagher Center.

HIGHLIGHTS
- First season as the Jefferson Rams
- 28 games: 16 home, 12 away
- 19 conference games
- Five-game homestand to begin the season
- Home Opener: Saturday Nov. 11 at 2 p.m. vs. Queens (N.Y.)
- Part of the NCAA DII Basketball Showcase on Saturday, Feb. 17 at Caldwell with a doubleheader broadcast on ESPN3
- CACC Rivalry Week: at Holy Family on Saturday, Dec. 9 and then hosting Holy Family to cap off the regular season on Saturday, Feb. 24.
- Following the regular season, the Rams will be hosting the semifinals and finals of the 2017-18 CACC Championship in early March

NOVEMBER – 7 GAMES: 5 HOME, 2 AWAY
All seven affairs to begin the season are nonconference matchups.

The Rams kick off the regular season on a five-game homestand in the middle of November. Jefferson will host the Jefferson Challenge on Saturday, Nov. 11 and Sunday, Nov. 12, playing Queens (N.Y.) and Molloy each day at 2 p.m.

Jefferson will then see Bridgeport in a midweek matchup on Wednesday, Nov. 15 (6 p.m.) followed by Lincoln (Pa.) on Saturday, Nov. 18 (2 p.m.).

The final game of the homestand welcomes Shippensburg to the Gallagher Center on Tuesday, Nov. 21 (6 p.m.).

November closes out with the Rams on the road at East Stroudsburg on Sunday, Nov. 26 (1 p.m.) and at Kutztown on Wednesday, Nov. 29 (7 p.m.).

DECEMBER – 6 GAMES [5 CACC]: 3 HOME, 3 AWAY
December brings the beginning of conference play. The month kicks off on the road at Georgian Court on Saturday, Dec. 2 (1 p.m.) followed by the CACC home opener against Chestnut Hill on Tuesday, Dec. 5 (6 p.m.). The next two for the Rams come on the road at Holy Family on Saturday, Dec. 9 (noon) and a week later at Bloomsburg in a nonconference affair on Saturday, Dec. 16 (2 p.m.).

The month closes at home with Wilmington (Del.) and Goldey-Beacom on Tuesday, Dec. 19 (1 p.m.) and Saturday, Dec. 30 (1 p.m.).

JANUARY – 8 GAMES [8 CACC]: 3 HOME, 5 AWAY
The new calendar year sees a heavy load of road conference matchups for the Rams. The first stop for Jefferson is at USciences on Saturday, Jan. 6 (1 p.m.) before hosting Nyack on Wednesday, Jan. 10 (6 p.m.).

Following road contests at Post on Saturday, Jan. 13 (1 p.m.) and Tuesday, Jan. 16 (6 p.m.), the Rams welcome Concordia (N.Y.) to the Gallagher Center on Sunday, Jan. 21 (2 p.m.).

The last three games in the month follows a similar pattern with two on the road before beginning a five-game homestand. Jefferson visits Chestnut Hill and Dominican (N.Y.) on Wednesday, Jan. 24 (6 p.m.) and Saturday, Jan. 27 (2 p.m.) before hosting Georgian Court on Tuesday, Jan. 30 (6 p.m.) to close the month.

FEBRUARY – 7 GAMES [6 CACC]: 5 HOME, 2 AWAY
The five-game homestand continues with four more games at the Gallagher Center to open the final month of the regular season.

Jefferson hosts Washington Adventist in the nonconference matchup, the final one of the season, on Thursday, Feb. 1 (6 p.m.). The next three see the Rams host Felician on Saturday, Feb. 3 (2 p.m.), USciences on Wednesday, Feb. 7 (6 p.m.) and Bloomfield on Saturday, Feb. 10 (2 p.m.).

The final two road contests of the regular season are at Caldwell and Goldey-Beacom on Saturday, Feb. 17 (1 p.m.) and Wednesday, Feb. 21 (6 p.m.).

The Rams close the regular season at home on Saturday, Feb. 24 with Holy Family (2 p.m.), part of the CACC Rivalry Weekend.

CACC CHAMPIONSHIP
The CACC Championship Quarterfinals begins on Tuesday, Feb. 27 with the higher seed serving as the home site. Jefferson will host the semifinals and finals on Saturday, March 3 and Sunday, March 4.

View: Mobile | Desktop