Jefferson Volleyball Reveals 2017 Schedule

Jefferson Volleyball Reveals 2017 Schedule

2017 Jefferson Volleyball Schedule

PHILADELPHIA – The Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University) volleyball team and head coach Tim Moyer, entering his third year, announced its 2017 opponents on Wednesday. The 29-match slate begins on the first of September and features 19 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) affairs.

"As we start a new era as Jefferson, I look forward to challenging our girls to improve upon last year's season," said Coach Moyer. "While it's a lofty task, the strong recruiting class we have coming in and with so many key returners we hope to make another run at the conference title. I have worked very hard this year to make our schedule as strong as possible so look for the Rams to be tested early and often but this should lead to great things down the stretch."

After reaching the 2016 NCAA Tournament for the first time in program history, the Rams will be looking to repeat and grab the conference's automatic bid once again after winning their first-ever CACC Championship a year ago.

"It's not about how you start it's about how you finish," continued Coach Moyer. "I know last year's returners got a taste of NCAAs and many of them are hungry for more."

The test to repeat as conference champions in 2017 begins with two nonconference challenges. The Rams are set for their season opener at the NYIT Tip-Off on Friday, Sept. 1 with NYIT and Le Moyne. On Saturday, Sept. 2, Jefferson then plays LIU Post and Merrimack at the Long Island Invitational.

The Rams play at Millersville on Wednesday, Sept. 6 before participating in the Wildcat Invitational with Adelphi, Franklin Pierce and Merrimack on Sept. 8-9.

The team returns to Philadelphia and the friendly confides of the Gallagher Center for their home opener on Wednesday, Sept. 13 against Wilmington in a CACC matchup at 6 p.m. The 19-match CACC slate features a home and home with fellow south division members and one match against each of the north division opponents.

The last nonconference match of September comes at home against Queens on Friday, Sept. 15 at 6 p.m. After Queens, the final 18 of 19 matches are CACC affairs with the exception of Lincoln late in the season.

The Rams are on the road at Georgian Court on Tuesday, Sept. 19 and then back at home to face Goldey-Beacom on Friday, Sept. 22.

Matches at Dominican and USciences on Sept. 23 and 27 come as the final road contests of the month before the Rams close at home on Saturday, Sept. 30 against Caldwell at noon.

October opens on Tuesday, Oct. 3 at Chestnut Hill at 7 p.m.

One of two Friday-Saturday back-to-backs for Jefferson is set for Oct. 6 and 7 when the Rams host Holy Family and Felician. The Felician match on Saturday, Oct. 7 falls on Homecoming Day. Another home match on Wednesday, Oct. 11 against Concordia closes out the three-match homestand at the Gallagher Center.

The squad is back on the road on Saturday, Oct. 14 and Tuesday, Oct. 17 against Post and Goldey-Beacom before a home tilt with Nyack on Saturday, Oct. 21 at noon.

A 7 p.m. road match at Wilmington is scheduled for Wednesday, Oct. 25 prior to the Rams closing the month at home with USciences and Chestnut Hill on the 28th and 31st.

With only four regular-season matches remaining on the schedule as the calendar flips to November, the women begin on the road at Holy Family on Thursday, Nov. 2.

The final two home matches of the season come against Georgian Court and Lincoln (for a nonconference affair) on Saturday, Nov. 4 and Monday, Nov. 6.

The regular-season finale at Bloomfield on Wednesday, Nov. 8 starts at 7 p.m.

The CACC Championships begin on Tuesday, Nov. 14 with opening round action at the site of the various top seeds before the championship weekend at Wilmington on Saturday, Nov. 18 and Sunday, Nov. 19.

 




Be sure to follow Jefferson Athletics on Twitter (@JeffersonRams), Instagram (@JeffersonRams) and Facebook (@JeffersonRamsAthletics) for news and updates surrounding the Rams' 17 intercollegiate sports. 

View: Mobile | Desktop